1-11 in the Premier League redux, Part 2

We’ve already looked at the first four clubs in the Premier League and how they’d fare with the players numbered from 1-11, so – a bit belatedly – here are four more.

Crystal Palace


  1. Julian Speroni
  2. Joel Ward
  3. Adrian Mariappa
  4. Brede Hangeland
  5. Patrick McCarthy
  6. Scott Dann
  7. Yannick Bolasie
  8. Adlene Guedioura
  9. Kevin Doyle
  10. Fraizer Campbell
  11. Wilfied Zaha

The fact that Bolasie and Zaha are wingers would mean that Guedioura would be overworked, and of course the 2 and 3 switcheroo is sacrilegious.



  1. Joel Robles
  2. Tony HIbbert
  3. Leighton Baines
  4. Darron Gibson
  5. Samuel Eto’o
  6. Phil Jagielka
  7. Aiden McGeady
  8. Bryan Oviedo
  9. Arouna Kone
  10. Romelu Lukaku
  11. Kevin Mirallas

A fairly continental-looking 3-4-3 for the Toffees. Gibson could perhaps drop back alongside Jagielka as required, but you wouldn’t be putting the house on McGeady tracking back. The front three may also be too similar to play together. Eto’o wearing 5 is obviously a disgrace, but it does provide historical balance as centre-back Johnny Hurst wore 10 on the 1969-70 title-winning side.

Hull City


  1. Allan McGregor
  2. Liam Rosenior
  3. Maynor Figueroa
  4. Alex Bruce
  5. James Chester
  6. Curtis Davies
  7. David Meyler
  8. Tom Huddlestone
  9. Abel Hernandez
  10. Robert Snodgrass
  11. Robbie Brady

A fairly solid-looking layout. If we were being pedantic, we’d want 7, 8 and 10 to be moved around but it hardly matters in the big scheme of things.

Leicester City


  1. Kasper Schmeichel
  2. Ritchie de Laet
  3. Paul Konchesky
  4. Daniel Drinkwater
  5. Wes Morgan
  6. Matthew Upson
  7. Dean Hammond
  8. Matthew James
  9. Jamie Vardy
  10. Andy King
  11. Marc Albrighton

Almost a perfect 4-5-1. Hammond is a central player who can play on the left, which is handy as Albrighton is right-sided.